No Longer a Skype Virgin

August 9, 2010 at 7:53 pm Leave a comment

I wanted to post a blog today because it’s 8.9.10 and what better material than my interview this afternoon on Skype. Yup, I used Skype for the first time today and it was so cool. Skype is where you’re basically on a video conference call on your laptop. The topic was real estate technology. How fitting to try something new.

I interviewed with Chad Peevy for his new agent website he is developing. The topic was how we use technology in our real estate practice and how we became tech leaders in Austin real estate.

Here is a bit of the Q & A:

Where did it all begin?  How did you get started in Real Estate and when did the technology begin to play such an important role?

Real estate started when high-tech laid off … the technology component has evolved over the years.  I am always looking for and paying attention to the cutting edge and cool tools that top agents around the country are using.  I look into most of them and I try the ones that I think will either make a difference for my business or my clients.

Do you mange it all alone or do you have help?  What specifically does your assistant do for you?  In other words, how much of what The Nelson Project puts out there is Julie Nelson and how much is coming from your assistant?

I know how to do it all but there’s no way I could do it myself … there would not be enough time.  I am able to have all these systems and cool tools because I have help.  Jackie handles most of the listing technology, our blog platform, our main web site, researches the new tools I find … I am the content and creative component.  I think this is one of the main things that separates the solo agent from the agent with a staff.  Fortunately, I built my business to the point where I needed help and then you get leverage because 2 people or 3 people can bring so much more to the table and our clients benefit from that.

The market today seems flooded with online tools to build websites, manage social media profiles, lots of new services to join or signup for.  How did you know what to choose and what is your strategy for choosing?

That would be a misrepresentation to say we had a specific strategy and implemented it.  We have strategy now but it did not start out that way. Yes, flooded indeed and I get emails everyday with something new someone thinks I should consider or pay for.  We have tried quite a few things along the way that did not work or cost too much with low or no return.  As far as what we choose … I think a lot of that came from paying attention to top agents around the country and cherry picking from their list of tools.

Some of your favorite tools? 

Wolfnet, Facebook, WordPress, Picassa, YouTube & Flip video, LinkedIn. Xobni, Twitter

 

© Julie Nelson and The Nelson Project at Keller Williams Reatly, 2008-2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Julie Nelson and The Nelson Project at Keller Williams Realty with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

del.icio.us Tags:

Entry filed under: Austin.

What is a pocket listing and why does this matter to me? Transform, Inspire … bringing new life to a tired home

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Email Us

Call US
512-848-5881

Categories

© Julie Nelson and The Nelson Project at Keller Williams Reatly, 2016-2020. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Julie Nelson and The Nelson Project at Keller Williams Realty with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

